Whether or not you're familiar with buying and selling on auction websites, our User Guide is designed to make the process of buying and selling spirits as easy as possible for you. We're also on-hand to guide you through and provide advice, so please do let us know if you would like help.

WHY WHISKY.AUCTION?

  • We are a London based team of experts with years of experience in the whisky industry, with access to a huge archive of bottles and contacts
  • We offer free UK insurance and low shipping costs
  • We're happy to give free valuations and advice on your whiskies and fine spirits
  • You're likely to achieve a higher price selling on Whisky.Auction than selling via a specialist retailer
  • We're a great place to buy old and rare whisky, often for lower prices than via whisky shops.

AUCTION DATES

  • We run a monthly live auction; each auction runs for ten days
  • In each auction we will list items received and accepted before the cut-off time indicated below
  • Dates for our 2017 auctions are as follows:
    2017 AUCTION DATES
    Cut-off for submissions Auction Live Auction Ends
    Thursday 29 December Sunday 8 January Tuesday 17 January
    Thursday 16 February Sunday 26 February Tuesday 7 March
    Thursday 16 March Sunday 26 March Tuesday 4 April
    Thursday 20 April Sunday 30 April Tuesday 9 May
    Thursday 18 May Sunday 28 May Tuesday 6 June
    Thursday 15 June Sunday 25 June Tuesday 4 July
    Thursday 13 July Sunday 23 July Tuesday 1 August
    Thursday 17 August Sunday 27 August Tuesday 5 September
    Thursday 14 September Sunday 24 September Tuesday 3 October
    Thursday 19 October Sunday 29 October Tuesday 7 November
    MINIATURE AUCTION
    Thursday 2 November
    MINIATURE AUCTION
    Sunday 12 November
    MINIATURE AUCTION
    Tuesday 21 November
    Thursday 16 November Sunday 26 November Tuesday 5 December

HOW TO BUY SPIRITS AT AUCTION

HOW TO SELL SPIRITS AT AUCTION

HOW TO SET UP YOUR ACCOUNT

  • To buy or sell on Whisky.Auction, you'll need to register and set up your account with us – we're happy to guide you through this so just let us know if you'd like help.
  • Registration is free for sellers
  • For buyers, there is a one-off registration fee of £5.

VALUATIONS

  • We offer free valuations and advice for your old and rare bottles
  • We also offer valuation reports for insurance purposes, if you're looking to insure precious whiskies or fine spirits.

FAQs

  • If there's something you unsure of, head over to our FAQs page and you should find the answer to your question.

GLOSSARY

  • Don't know your bidder from your buyer? Hung up on hammer prices? Our Glossary will explain the key terms you need to know.

BOTTLE FILL LEVEL GUIDE LINE

  • We always try to indicate the fill level of whisky or spirit inside old and rare bottles
  • Please see the diagram below for a guide to the most commonly used fill-level terms.
    Fill level guide Fill level guide

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

  • Not as exciting as bidding on something that's caught your eye, we grant you, but essential nevertheless. Here is the small print about buying and selling on Whisky.Auction.
Our website uses cookies, by continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Close